Denarau Women’s Golf Classic: Team Mates Battle For Top Place

CAPTION: All the way from New Caledonia, Pascale Bastien-Thiry takes a swing at the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club in preparation for her match at the Denarau Women’s Golf Classic. Picture: SUPPLIED


Fellow club members and team mates battled it out for the top places on day one of the Denarau Women’s Golf Classic, now sponsored by The Sheraton Fiji Resorts.   With 43 foursomes stableford points, North Shore Golf Club members (NZ) Lynne Gibbs paired with Sue Robertson, were declared the daily winners, two points ahead of Annie McDowall and Jackie Wells.   Wells is a current member of North Shore, while McDowall a former North Shore member, now plays out of the Mangawhai Golf Club.

There was a count back needed to find the third place winner with another set of team mates battling it out.  On a count back Karen Craigie and Ann Woods from the South Island’s Rangiora Golf Cub scoring 38 points, pipped fellow club members Jo Kent & Sonia Read.

Craigie is one of the oldest supporters of the tournament, now in its 11th year, having first competed ten years ago with her mother as her partner.   Also just missing out in the daily winners circle today were Susan Houston and Karen O’Neill.  Both are members of Clarks Beach (NZ) who also scored 38 points.  They are well placed going into tomorrow’s round which will be scored by 4BBB Stableford points from the pairings.

The annual event, which has always  been played at the Denarau Golf & Racquet Club, has kept the same format over its 11 year history, which has included a women’s pairs tournament, with foursomes, 4BBB and a combined stableford round over three consecutive days.

The field this year includes 88 players from New Zealand, Australia, Fiji in addition to four players from New Caledonia for the first time.   The French contingent is led by Pascale Bastien-Thiry who is one of the islands most accomplished women players.  Bastien-Thiry is well known in sporting circles across the Pacific having been the Chairman of the Organising Committee for the 2011 Pacific Games hosted in New Caledonia.

For her efforts, Bastien-Thiry was awarded the National Order of the Legion of Honour (also known as the Legion d’honneur) from President Sarkozy, the original order being established by Napoleon Bonaparte in 1802.

Sylvie Macaud from the Tina Golf Club is paired with Bastien-Thiry, another credible player from the French collective of New Caledonia.  Their score of 35 points is 8 shots of the pace after their first round.

Local hopes are pinned on Laura Cunning (Denarau Golf & Racquet Club) who is paired with Pamela Messervy from New Zealand’s Martinborough Golf Club, The pair returned a score of 36 points, while Edwina Peterson and Sulu Brook, both from the Denarau Golf & Racquet Club, scored a disappointing 28 points.   Last years winner, Maureen Burgess and new partner Yvonne Ward, from the Titirangi Golf Club in Auckland are well poised with an opening round of 36 points.

Round two is due to tee off Thursday 01 August at 9.00am with the final round scheduled to be played on Friday 02 August, concluding with the formal prize giving that night.


Leading Scores after the first round

1st 43 points: Lynne Gibbs & Sue Robertson (NZ)

2nd 41 points: Annie McDowall & Jackie wells (NZ)

3rd= 38 points: Karen Craigie & Ann Woods (NZ); Jo Kent & Sonia Read (NZ); Susan Houston & Karen O’Neill (NZ)

6th= 37 points: Glenda Giddy & Maureen Patterson (NZ); Gwenda Smith & Mary Sorenson (NZ); Pascale Bastien-Thiry & Syvlie Macaud (NC)

9th= 36 points: Julie Gee & Trish McBride (NZ); Margaret West & Denise Westcott (NZ); Barbara Caldow & Sue Campbell (NZ); Julie Connolly & Susan Orr (NZ); Maureen Burgess & Yvonne Ward (NZ); Kim Milne & Terri Thompson (NZ); Pamela Messery (NZ) & Laura Cunning (FJ); Janice Hesp & Ann Hogg (NZ)



scroll to top