The Prime Minister Hon. Voreqe Bainimarama has announced the members of the National Flag Committee.

In his announcement, the Prime Minister also thanked the members of the National Flag Committee?for agreeing to?undertake this national task.

?I am sure that every Fijian joins me in thanking?each?of these distinguished individuals for agreeing to serve the nation by becoming members?of this Committee?, the Prime Minister said.

?They will be assembling next week to begin the task of sifting through more than 1400 entries in the national flag competition that closed?on?1st May and?we wish them well in their deliberations.?

The Prime Minister also announced that the committee, which will be chaired by the?Assistant Minister for Youth and Sports?and Para-Olympic champion,?Honourable Iliesa Delana will also be joined by?Ted Kaye ? an American flag expert who is a leading international authority?in the field of?vexillology.


The members of the National Flag Committee?are:

1.???? Honourable Iliesa Delana ? Assistant Minister for Youth and Sports and Para-Olympic Gold Medallist, (Chair);

2.???? Mr Ted Kaye – American Flag expert and vexillogist;

3.???? Ms Shaenaz?Voss ? ?senior manager of Fiji Airways and former Chief Executive Officer of Air Fiji and Board???? member of Unit Trust of Fiji and Film Fiji;

4.???? Mr Ilaitia?Jikoiono?? artist and designer and Creative Director of Style Magazine;

5.???? Ms Shammi?Lochan?? radio personality and currently Radio Program Director?at the Fiji Broadcasting Corporation;

6.???? Ms Lenora Qereqeretabua ??National public relations consultant?and former?Ms?Hibiscus;

7.???? Ms Manpreet?Kaur?? ?academic?specializing?in?linguistics and diasporic studies?at?the University of Fiji;

8.???? Ms Niqa?Tuvuki?? Culture and heritage specialist at the Fiji Arts Council;

9.???? The Tui?Wainunu,?Ratu?Orisi?Baleitavea;

10.? Mr Agni?Deo?Singh ?? Trade Unionist and General Secretary of the Fiji Teachers Union;

11.? Mr Craig Marlow ??? community artist;

12.? Mr Jiko?Matawalu – ?sporting personality, rugby player and coach; and

13.? Mr Dinesh Patel ??? businessman and member of the Chamber of Commerce.