CAPTION: Iliesa Delana is betowed the honour of the Medal of the Order of Fiji by HE Epeli Nailatikau. Photo: MINFO. 

His Excellency the President Ratu Epeli Nailatikau, as the Chancellor of the Order of Fiji, today bestowed the Order of Fiji award to ten recipients at an investiture ceremony at Government House.

His Grace, Archbishop Petero Mataca of the Catholic Church of Fiji was conferred the Companion of the Order of Fiji; an award for eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree for service to Fiji and to humanity at large.

Archbishop Mataca, who is preparing to retire after serving the Catholic Church and Fiji for 38 years as an archbishop and fifty years as a priest said that he was happy to be acknowledged for his work.

Amongst those that were conferred the Officer of the Order of Fiji includes charity and community worker Selina Lee Wah and prominent broadcaster in the Asia-Pacific Region, Kenneth Clark.

Awarded for meritorious service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group , the Member of the Order of Fiji was conferred to Bal Govindra, Yoga Baran Naicker, Ratu Isikeli Tasere and Mohammed Rafiq.

In addition, the Medal of the Order of Fiji which is awarded for service worthy of a particular recognition was conferred to Kuar Singh, Brijesh Chandra and paralypic gold medallist, Iliesa Delana.

Mr Delana while commending His Excellency the President, Ratu Epeli Nailatikau and the Fijian government said that he was grateful to the head of state and to the head of government for recognising paralympic achievements.

The Order of Fiji which has 3 levels (Companion, Officer and Member) and an associated medal which makes it in effect a four level order has been instituted to recognise merit and achievement by citizens of Fiji across the whole range of human endeavour.


scroll to top