Vodafone Fiji Bati Squad 2013

Rugby League selectors announced 21 of 24 players for the Vodafone Fiji Bati Rugby League World Cup Squad after a torrid “Vodafone Battle of the Bati” encounter at the ANZ stadium Thursday.

The exhilarating match between the Fiji Residents and Overseas Fijians saw the local boys overpower the much fancied overseas based players in a close encounter by 18 to 14.
The Vodafone Fiji Bati, official squad was announced by the Minister for Youth and Sports Commander Viliame Naupoto. Commander Naupoto, acknowledged the support of Vodafone Fiji in promoting and developing the sport in the Country.  Over 12,000 spectators jam packed the ANZ stadium on a fine Thursday evening to witness the best ever Vodafone Battle of the Bati to-date.
Vodafone Fiji’s Chief Marketing Officer, Mr. Sanjeewa Perera said that “the support of Vodafone Fiji and initiatives undertaken has seen the sport grow in leap and bound over the last seven years.  It provides a successful career platform for the thriving players in highly lucrative Rugby League career.  Vodafone is confident that the national squad announced yesterday will do the country proud by doing better than semi final finish.
The powerful team consists of some very renowned names in the rugby league.  The team is captained by legendry Petero Civoniceva and Wes Naiqama as Vice Captain respectively.
Notable names in the squad include; Marika Koroibete, Sisa Waqa and Former 7s winger Semi Radradra.  Vodafone Fiji Bati Head Coach Rick Stone said that they will reveal the names of the remaining 3 players after Kangaroos announce their squad with Jarryd Hayne and Akuila Uate as possible late inclusions.
The Vodafone Fiji Bati’s play their first match against Ireland at 8pm on Monday 28th Octat the Spotland Stadium, Rochdale, England.
21 of the 24-Member Squad: 
Petero Civoniceva (Captain), Wes Naiqama (Vice Captian), Kevin Naiqama, Sisa Waqa, Marika Koroibete, Aaron Groom, Kaliova Tani, Semi Radradra, Tariq Sims, Korbin Sims, Ashton Sims, James Storer, Alipate Noilea, Jason Bukuya, Vitale Jnr Roqica, Tikiko Inoke, Ilisavani Jegesa, Eloni Vunakece, Darryl Millard, Apisai Koroisau, Kaine Evans.
scroll to top