Drudru on song as Nadi beats Lautoka

Caption: Nadi’s Samuela Drudru in action. Photo: FILE.


Sensational striker Samuela Drudru proved to be the hero for the Shop N Save sponsored Nadi side as they defeated Lautoka 1-0 in the Fiji Sun/ Skipper Tuna National Football League encounter at Churchill Park today, May 4.

The visitors started the match as favourites after recently featuring in the OFC Champions League this year with more exposure and experience.

It was in the 31st minute of first half as Drudru broke the hearts of the mighty home fans after neatly combining with Napolione Qasevakatini as Lautoka defense was outclassed by the strikers  in green giving Nadi a 1-0 lead at the breather.

With encouraging words from the coach Dennis Singh, Lautoka tried to fight back into the game as the loss would mean a lot to them.

Jone Vono Junior was introduced in the second half to add more fire-power to the blues attack, however it was too late for them as the visitors walked away with three points.

Nadi coach Kamal Swamy was happy with the result but is disappointed with some minor factors.

“We’re happy that we got the three points but we can see the fitness level is very low because the players are not turning up for training,” said Swamy.

“We have problems with the availability of grounds for training because of events in Nadi but we hope to get better in the next game.” he added.

Lautoka coach Dennis Singh was happy with the second half performance of his boys.

“I was happy with the way boys played in the second half but a lot could have been done with the misse opportunities,” Singh said.

“Soccer is about scoring goals as the opportunities are created and this is what the boys failed to do today (Sunday) as the goal counted at the end.”

Nadi: Vereti Dickson, Eliki Ravosai, Ame Votoniu, Amani Makoe, Shafeem Buksh, Ranjesh Prasad, Lekima Gonerau, Vuniuci Tikomaimereke, Jone Salauneune, Napolioni Qasevakatini, Samuela Drudru.

Lautoka:  Senirusi Bokini, Poasa Bainivalu, Simon Satya Prakash, Semesa Nakosia, Kavaia Rawaqa, Iliesa Lino, Alvin Avinesh,  Waisea Tale Junior, Zibraaz Saheb, Edward Justin, Eron Underwood.




scroll to top