Nabua Sanatan reign supreme in Suva

Nabua Sanatan Primary School reigned supreme at the Suva Primary Schools Zone Finals this past weekend, taking out both the Under-14 and Under-12 age-group finals.

After some fierce round-robin competition between eight schools across three age-groups, the U12 semi-finals were ironically both between teams representing Nabua Sanatan and Veiuto Primary School.  However in the final Nabua Sanatan came out on top, taking away the title of Suva Zone U12 champions, as well as $100 in prize money.

Meanwhile in the U14 competition Nabua Sanatan defeated one team representing Suva Muslim Primary School to reach the final, whilst in the other semi-final, another Suva Muslim team faced off against Marist Brothers’ Primary School.  This time Suva Muslim did take the win and make it through to the final, only once again to be pipped at the hands of Nabua Sanatan, who took away the grand prize as well as $200 cash.

In the Under-10 competition it was Indira Ghandi Primary School who defeated Veiuto in the semi-final, and then Stella Maris Primary School in the final, to have a change of winners in the U10 category and take out the final title for the day.

Up in Korovou a great turnout of 12 schools contested the Tailevu North Zone finals.  After a full day of fun-filled, round-robin competition, the team from Loco Primary School were crowned overall winners, followed by Natovi Primary School in second place, and Dakuivuna in third.

Cricket Fiji would like to congratulate all participants on two great competitions, and also thank the participating schools and their teachers for their continual devotion to grown cricket from a grass roots level.

Cricket Fiji’s Primary School Zone finals will continue this long weekend with competitions in both the Nasinu and Tailevu South regions.



scroll to top