New winner to be crowned in IDC

Caption: The newly imported IDC cup from United States which weighs 30kg and is 4 feet tall. Photo: ANUSHIL KUMAR.


The Courts Inter-District Championship will have a new winner this year.

This was confirmed after defending champions 4R Electric Ba was bundled out of the tournament having only two points in bag as their final pool match against Rewa ended in a 1-all stalemate.

Battle of the Giants finalists Lautoka will play the first semi-final against hosts Suva as the Capital City boys topped pool A while the Blues finished pool plays as runners-up in group B.

Last years IDC finalists and Fiji Fact champions Shop N Save Nadi, who ended the group stages as runners-up, will battle pool B winners Finance Pacific Nadroga who are tagged as the tournament upsetters as they defeated Ba and Lautoka in pool plays.

The first semi-final is scheduled to kick off at 4pm while the second knockout encounter will take place at 6pm.

Meanwhile, Nadi has won the IDC six times as their last win was in 2002 where they defeated Rewa under the presidency of Navneeda Gounder. Suva have lifted the IDC cup for 12 times, last won in 2012 beating Ba 1-0 in a dramatic final. Lautoka has won the Lloyd Farebrother cup for a total of 16 times as they last won it in 2008 beating Ba 1-0 while Nadroga won the IDC title for three times where they last lifted the cup back in 1993 beating Nasinu 1-0 in the final. All the four semi-finalists last won their respective IDC titles at Govind Park in Ba.

scroll to top