Citizens of Samoa, Tonga, Kiribati and Tuvalu are encouraged to register for this year’s ballot under the Samoan Quota and Pacific Access Category between 1 and 30 April.

Immigration instructions recognise the special relationship between New Zealand and Samoa and the Pacific Access Category countries of Tonga, Tuvalu and Kiribati. Each year up to 1100 Samoan citizens, 250 Tongan citizens and 75 citizens from Kiribati and Tuvalu are selected by ballot to be considered for the grant of residence in New Zealand.

Eligible citizens of these four countries must be aged between 18 and 45 to register under the ballot.  The successful applicants selected from the ballot process will have until 6 March 2015 to lodge their residence visa applications; the principal applicant must also have an acceptable job offer from a New Zealand employer.

Prospective ballot registration applicants are reminded to make sure they have the required forms and necessary documents. Only one ballot registration form is needed for each family. Copies of birth certificates or front page of passports must also be provided for everyone named on the registration form.

Immigration New Zealand will contact each ballot applicant via a mobile text message or email to acknowledge receipt of their ballot registration form including their Client Registration Number. Ballot applicants will need to hold on to this number to check the status of their registration after the ballots are drawn on 6 June 2014.

Registering for the Samoan Quota is free but there is a NZ$70 registration fee for the Pacific Access Category. This fee is reduced to NZ$30 for those who have registered in a previous year.  An additional fee of AUD$12 is payable for Kiribati citizens registering from Kiribati.

Ballot registration forms are available from the nearest Immigration New Zealand office or are available here for the Samoan Quota and here for the Pacific Access Category.

For further information contact the media line on 0274 422 141 or email


scroll to top