The Hon. Prime Minister Voreqe Bainimarama will lead a Fijian delegation to the 46th International Sugar Council meeting in London.

The head of Government and Minister for Sugar Industry will attend the meeting for the International Sugar Organisation (ISO) Conference and the International Seminar on Sugar. The Prime Minister is the immediate past Chairman of the International Sugar Council. The current Chairman is H.E. Ambassador Derrick Heaven CD of Jamaica.

The Fijian delegation, will also attend the International Seminar entitled “Sugar and Ethanol: Fresh Options” which will focus on relevant issues and the emerging trends that are likely to shape the future. The outlook for sugar in key regions and the potential for investment, as well as the interdependence between ethanol and sugar markets, will be analysed.

It will also focus on the concept of sustainability, which, moving towards the future, encompasses the main elements to achieve tangible enduring growth in our sugar sector. Internationally renowned and authoritative speakers will share their assessment and outlook on decisive policy and economic aspects shaping the future of our industries.

The Seminar, and other related meetings, will present the opportunity for the Fijian delegation to exchange experiences and focus on the challenges and opportunities shared.

On a bilateral level, Fiji would have the opportunity to utilise the forum for intergovernmental consultations and to explore ways to improve the earnings that we derive from our exports in light of the sharp decline in the sugar prices in our major export market.

This Council session will also address the Organisation’s 2015/2016 Budget Proposal, and Members’ contribution, as well as the Draft 2015 Work Programme for the Market Evaluation, Consumption and Statistics Committee.

The Fijian delegation includes the Permanent Secretary for Sugar, Mr Manasa Vaniqi, Fiji’s High Commissioner to London Mr Solo Mara, Acting Ambassador Fiji Embassy in Brussels Mr Nidhendra Singh, Executive Chairman of FSC Mr Abdul Khan, Chief Executive Officer, Sugar Cane Growers Council Mr Sundresh Chetty, Industrial Commissioner for Sugar Industry Tribunal Mr Timothy Brown and Director, Sugar Mr Viliame Gucake.


scroll to top