Referees celebrate Diamond Jubilee


The Fiji Football Referees Association (FFRA) marks a new era this weekend when they celebrate their 60th year of existence.

FIFA Order of Merit recipient/FFRA Life member Hari Raj Naicker says the diamond jubilee celebrations will take place this Saturday from 6pm at the Inter-Continental Hotel in Natadola.

Naicker added that His Excellency the President of Fiji, Ratu Epeli Nailatikau who is also the patron of the association will be the chief guest at the function.

“The FFRA has come a long way since the establishment of the association in 1954,” Naicker said.

“Fiji Football Association was formed in 1938 and till 1954 matches were officiated by school teachers and few educated people at that time.

Today the association boasts a huge number of referees that have gone on shine on the local and international scene.”

The first FFRA president in 1954 when the association was formed Shiu Nath Sharma. Mahendra Singh is the current president.

Naicker says various former and current referees along with administrators will be honoured at the function with medals and certificates.

“The current FIFA/Fiji FA referees along with various other individuals who have worked hard to take FFRA to greater heights will be honoured during the event,” he said.

Speakers at the function will include FFRA president Mahen Singh, Fiji FA vice president Taranesh Reddy and President of Fiji who will also be the chief guest.


scroll to top