Suva cricket does battle with Suva weather

Rain wreaked havoc over last weekend’s fixture in the Suva Cricket League, with only two of the six scheduled games fully completed, and two more needed to revert to the Duckworth-Lewis method to determine an outcome.

In the first game between VICC and Police, VICC batted first to be 6-174 off their 20 overs, thanks to solid knocks by John Richardson (46), Sushiel Jit (39) and Joji Bulabalavu (29 n.o.).  Despite solid performances by Police’s Watisoni Uluiviti (2-22) and A Tawatatau (1-12) with the ball, the target set for them was seemingly out of reach, with Police being bowled out for 94 and VICC running out 80 run winners.  Best with the ball for VICC were Malcolm Bossley (3-23), Rajiv Patel (3-33), John Richardson (2-15) and Taoba Seru (1-12).

In the second match of the day, Ono-I-Lau was up against Oneata.  Batting first, Ono piled on 7-162 off their allotted overs, thanks to 65 not out from Tevita Waqavakatoga and a handy 29 from Fiji Under-19 representative, Kau Kotoisuva.  Oneata were strong with the ball, with Mathew Herring (3-10) and Tevita Kaukirewa (2-26) the notable stand outs, but when it was their turn to come to the crease they were knocked over for 63 in just 13 overs, handing Ono a 99 run win.  Best with the ball for Ono was Enele Gauna (3-18), Mitieli Bose (2-9), Filipe Colati (2-9) and Tevita Waqavakatoga (2-17).

The game between Army and Sarafui got just enough play in to determine a result via the Duckworth-Lewis method, with Army running out seven-run winners and retaining the Perpetual Cup for another week.  Notable performances with the bat were Army’s Kitione Tavo (47) and Tupou Colati (30 n.o.), while Joe Rika (22 n.o.) got the job done for Sarafui. Best with the ball were Colin Rika (3-27), Gavin Pereira (2-15) and Jack Smith (2-30), all from Sarafui who bowled first.

The Duckworth-Lewis method again being brought into play meant the match between the BSP Titans and Covenant Brothers was also a tight one.  Batting first, Covenant Brothers scored 9-105, with Buli Kolinisau top scoring with 36 not out.  Vinod Sashidaran (3-10) and Riyadh Khan (3-20) were both excellent for BSP with the ball.  BSP batted until rain stopped play with the score at 2-28, with them running out eventual two-run winners.

With the remaining two games; Moce I v Moce II and Yadrana v Komo, being washed out and declared a draw, each team received six points in the march towards the finals.

The next round of games in the Suva Cricket League are scheduled as follows:

Albert Park 1

8.00am – VICC v Ono-I-Lau

11.00am – Army v Covenant Brothers 

2.00pm – Moce I v BSP Titans


Albert Park 2

8.00am – SGSOB v Nasaqalau

11.00am – Yadrana v Westpac Sarafui

2.00pm – Moce II v Komo


BYE: Oneata, Police

scroll to top