Hamilton Nadi Wins the Waikato Fiji cup.

Hamilton Nadi side took out the Waikato Fiji cup in Hamilton, NZ after beating Hamilton Somali United 2 goals to 1 in the final. Waikato Fiji cup is organised by Waikato Fiji Association to bring the Fiji community together in Waikato. Total of 9 Teams took part this year including teams from Auckland, Rotorua and Hamilton.

Hamilton Nadi side defeated the defending champions Waikato Fijians by 1 goal in the first Semi-final and in the other semi-final Somalia United beat Rotorua Fiji  3 goals to 1. Hamilton Nadi side had services of former national reps Valerio Nawatu, Ravinesh Narayan and former Nadi reps Rajnesh Sharma and Tilesh Naidu.

Valerio Nawatu scored the winning goal in the final and was awarded with MVP trophy. Hamilton Nadi side won the Waikato Bay Plenty IDC  five times in a row and came short last year when they lost to Hamilton Ba in the semis. According to the manager, Kamal Nair this tournament was a good build up for the upcoming IDC and BOG in Hamilton, New Zealand. Majority of our players orginate form Nadi as WBOP IDC and BOG are played in Strict STATE OF ORIGIN RULES and the boys play for district pride. 


scroll to top