Moce, Ono, Lakeba qualify for Easter 2014

Moce, Ono-I-Lau and Lakeba I are the three teams from the Lau Conference who have qualified for the 70th annual Easter Tournament, as the qualifiers for team from the Lau group wrapped up at Albert Park today.

On ground one was the top-of-the-table clash between Moce and Ono-I-Lau.  Both teams were already guaranteed passage through to the Crompton Cup, but this match decided which pool they would contest.

Moce won the toss and sent Ono-I-Lau in to bat, who were dismissed for 110 runs off 39.2 overs.  Top scoring with the bat for Ono was Solomone Colati with 21, however Moce’s bowlers dominated the innings, with Manase Vuli (1-2 off 1.2 overs), Cama Inoke (3-15 off eight overs) and Tagilala Rakuita (2-17 off seven overs) all making significant contributions.

Moce then breezed through the second innings, easily reaching Ono’s total in 17.1 overs to record a nine-wicket win.  Maciu Gauna, who is now based in Wollongong, Australia, playing for the Wests Illawarra Cricket Club, wowed the crowed with 58 not out off just 51 balls, while his partner at the crease, Makuru Seru, also added to the spectacle, with a handy 32 not out off 41 balls.  Best with the ball for Ono-I-Lau was Mitieli Bose, with 1-16 off three overs.

Over on ground two Komo and Lakeba II were both playing their last match of the competition, in a playoff for pride.  Winning the toss, Lakeba batted first, and were eventually bowled out for 152 in 47.2 overs, highlighting a significant improvement in the teams’ ability to bat for 50 overs over the course of the qualifiers.  Top scoring for Lakeba II was Moala Colata on 38 not out, while Komo captain, Laijia Qalowasa, had the best first innings figures with the ball, with 3-20 off ten overs.

It was at times a tight battle, but in the end Komo ran out three-wicket winners, reaching 7-156 in 31.2 overs.  Sukabula Finau top-scored for the eventual winners with 31 runs, however the bowling of Lakeba II’s Cama Colati wasn’t to be forgotten – he finished with figures of 5-36 off his allotted ten overs.

At the conclusion of today’s matches, Moce finished the Lau Conference qualifiers topping the leader board with 16 points, followed by Ono-I-Lau and Lakeba I, who tied for second place on 11 points apiece.  In fourth place was Komo with nine points, followed by Oneata with seven points, and Lakeba II with four.

The finalised rankings of the teams from the Lau group also means that the pools for the main event have been finalised, which will begin on Monday April 14th, and conclude with the final on Easter Monday.  The pools for the 2014 Easter Tournament are as follows:

Pool 1

Suva Warriors



Western Suburbs District Cricket Club (Brisbane, Australia)

Pool 2


Suva Crusaders

Cricket Fiji Invitational

West Tigers

Tomorrow the Under-23 fixture for the Easter Championships will continue, with two matches commencing at Albert Park at 9am.  Moce will face Cricket Fiji’s Invitational I side, whilst Lakeba will play Invitational II.

Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact Laura Macintosh on 9988 121.



scroll to top