Officers Remember Fallen Comrades

Commissioner of Police Ben Groenewald lays a wreath during the Police Remembrance Day.

“We have sounded the “Last Post” for our fallen comrades for they have done the good days work in their lives – commemorating their good life – sacrificing it for the better of all”.

These were the words of Commissioner of Police Major General Ben Groenewald at the Fiji Police Remembrance Day Parade and Thanksgiving service at the Police Special Response Unit Sunday morning.

The Fiji Police has lost thirteen of its officers since September 2013 and today’s Remembrance Day in the presence of the fallen officers loved ones was an opportunity for the head of the organization to give thanks for their service to the organization and the country.

“On behalf of the Police Force and the Government of Fiji, I wish to express my appreciation for you the spouses and loved ones of these brave and dedicated officers for your unwavering support towards these great police officers that we are commemorating today”.

“For your loved ones. They have fought the good fight, they have finished the race and they kept the faith and ethos of the Fiji Police Force and I believe that there is in store for them the crown of righteousness”.

Also present were Divisional Police Commanders from all five policing divisions as this will be the only Remembrance Day commemorated for the organization.

The Commissioner of Police in an emotional speech to the families of fallen officers says the bond shared by Policing families is special and is often unbreakable.

“Remembrance Day is to recognize the dedication, friendship, comradeship and loyalty of our colleagues”.

“This shared value holds us together as policing families in good and bad times and is a reflection of the bond and loyalty to each other”.

The Remembrance Day was also an opportunity for the head of the Force to give thanks to his officers for having achieved a wonderful incident free General Election.




  1. PC Iftikar Begg             Ba
  2. PC Wame Ketenilagi     Samabula
  3. CPL Cama Dranivesi  – Gau
  4. CPL Ilisoni Mainaqelelevu       – Lami
  5. PC Sevuloni Keretabua- Totogo
  6. PC Tevita Mataitoga              – PSRU
  7. CPL Davendra Kant                – Lami
  8. IP Iliesa Jitoko             Samabula
  9. PC. Lasaro Dau            –         Lami
  10. SC Petero Manoa         – K9 Unit
  11. SC Taniela Naboreka    Sigatoka
  12. SC Varun Vishal Sharma         – Traffic HQ
  13. SC Maikeli Kevetibau    – Building & Maintenance Unit






scroll to top