CAPTION: The Hon. Mr. Kamal Kumar as Puisne Judge.

Six new additions to Fiji’s judiciary were sworn in at Government House today.

Mr Madduma Patabendige Sanjeeva Sudharshana De Silva together with Mr Kamal Kumar and Mr Janaka Prasanna Bandara were sworn in as Puisne Judges.

Mr De Silva holds a Masters of Law from the University of Colombo, Sri Lanka and won the Laduwahetty gold medal for excellence for the best overall performance at the awards ceremony of Sri Lanka Law College in 1996.

Mr Kumar holds a bachelor of Law Degree from the Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane and was admitted to the High Court of Fiji as a barrister and solicitor.

Also sworn in as a puisne judge, Mr Bandara holds a Master of Transnational Crime Prevention from the University of Wollongong, Australia and was appointed as a resident magistrate in Fiji in 2011.
Meanwhile, three new resident magistrates were also sworn in including Ms Puimini Weeratunga, Ms Rajakaruna Girihagama, and Mr Nadimale Rupasinghe.

Ms Weeratunga has ten years experience as a legal officer at the Legal Aid Commission in Sri Lanka and has passed the Attorney at Law final examination in 2001 at the Sri Lanka Law College.
Ms Girihagama holds a Masters of Law from the University of Colombo, Sri Lanka and has experience as a State Counsel in the Attorney General’s Department, Sri Lanka.

Mr Rupasinghe holds a Bachelors of Law Degree from the Open University of Sri Lanka and is also a qualified attorney-at-law of the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka.

Present at the swearing ceremony was the Chief Justice, Anthony Gates.


scroll to top