Roberston & Gibbs Hold Lead

Sue Robertson and Lynne Gibbs from New Zealand’s North Shore Golf Club retain their lead after the second round of the 11th Sheraton Fiji Denarau Women’s Golf Classic.  Playing for the 4th and 6th time, respectively, they have never been in the final winners pool, but will go into tomorrow’s final round with a lead of 3 points.
Robertson and Gibbs cumulative score after the foursomes round yesterday, and todays 4BBB Stableford round, total ing 89 points, pips their fellow club mates Jackie Wells and Annie McDowall (now a Mangawhai club member but a previous North Shore player), who are sitting on 86 points.   It will be a North Shore battle tomorrow in the final round where both scores count in a combined stableford 18 hole round. 
However the field is poised for tomorrows round with Susan Houston and Karen O’Neill (Clarks Beach, NZ), Jo Kent & Sonia Read (Rangiora, NZ), Janice Hesp & Ann Hogg (Levin, NZ), Gwenda Smith and Mary Sorenson (Whangarei, NZ) Barbara Ashworth & Laraine Marshall (Thames, NZ), Barb Caldow & Sue Campbell (Te Marua, NZ) along with Glenice Purcell (Hokitika, NZ) & Glenis Shearer (Whataroa, NZ) all sitting on scores of 80 points or better.
“We have found in the past that the final day has many pairings moving up and down the scoreboard” said tournament director, Denise Langdon, of PaR nz Golfing Holidays.  “Both scores count, hole by hole and there are many changes of fortune with this format,  the winners have been known to come from behind.  Tomorrow will be an exciting day to see what eventuates”.
Todays daily winners were the mother and daughter pairing of Helen & Kate Robb from Wellington, with a score of 51 points.  Playing off an assessed handicap, Kate, playing in her first ever tournament, is ineligible for the overall tournament trophy.  However tournament organizers awarded the pair the daily prize when they had a dramatic change of form after yesterdays poor round of 28 points.  
The next best daily score of 49 points was placed by Carol Turner and Flo Wells (Waitemata, NZ) followed by a group of players scarfing 47 points today which included local Denarau members Edwina Peterson and Sulu Brooks in addition to Sandy Nicholson paired with Robyn Thomas (Wakehurst, Australia), Barbara Ashworth and Laraine Marshall (Thames, NZ) and Glenice Purcell (Hokitkia, NZ) withGlenis Shearer (Whataroa, NZ). 
Leading Scores only, after todays play:
89 – Sue Robertson (NZ) and Lynne Gibbs (NZ)
86 – Annie McDowall (NZ) and Jackie Wells (NZ)
82 – Susan Houston (NZ) and Karen O’Neill (NZ); Gwenda Smith (NZ) and Mary Sorenson (NZ); Barbara Ashworth (NZ) and Laraine Marshall (NZ); Glenice Purcell (NZ) and Glenis Shearer (NZ)
81 – Janise Hesp (NZ) and Ann Hogg (NZ); Barb Caldow (NZ) and Sue Campbell (NZ)
80 – Jo Kent (NZ) and Sonia Read (NZ)
79 – Julie Connelly (NZ) and Susan Orr (NZ)
78 – Julie Gee (NZ) and Trish McBride (NZ); Carol Turner (NZ) and Flo Wells (NZ); Pamela Messervy (NZ) and Laura Cunning (FJ)
75 – Edwina Peterson (FJ) & Sulu Brook (FJ)
74 – Pascale Bastien-Thiry (New Caledonia) & Syvlie Macaud (New Caledonia)
scroll to top