The National Flag Committee met today to begin the process of going over the more than 1400 entries submitted during the competition which ended May 1.

The Chair of the Committee, Assistant Minister for Youth and Sports and Para-Olympic Champion, Honourable Iliesa Delana said, “I’m very excited to meet with the other members as we begin the search for the final design and am confident that we will work together as a team as we move forward.”

The Minister reiterated that the Committee will be able to draw on the full range of ideas submitted as they make the shortlist and that the final flag may be a combination of a number of entries.Mr Ted Kaye, a leading international authority in the field of vexillolo...

The Minister was joined by Mr Ted Kaye, a leading international authority in the field of vexillology, along with the other members of the Committee.

Mr Kaye said he looked forward to getting to know and working with the members of the Committee in the coming days as they narrow down the entries.

The other members of the Committee include Ms Shaenaz Voss; Mr IlaitiaJikoiono; Ms Shammi Lochan; Ms Lenora Qereqeretabua; Ms Manpreet Kaur; Ms NiqaTuvuki; the Tui Wainunu Ratu OrisiBaleitavea; Mr Agni Deo Singh; Mr Craig Marlow; Mr Jiko Matawalu and Mr Dinesh Patel.

The Committee gathered to discuss the overall criteria for choosing flag designs before considering each of the entries.Several rounds of narrowing down the entries will take place to determine the final few designs. Fijians will then be given an opportunity to make their comments through a special website and share their ideas with social media.

The final design will then be tabled in Cabinet before being submitted to Parliament for its consideration when it sits in July.


scroll to top