Pools declared for Hong Kong Sevens

World Rugby has confirmed the pool draw for the Hong Kong Sevens, round six of the HSBC Sevens World Series 2014-15 on 27-29 March 2015.After their second Cup win of the season at the fifth round of the Series in Las Vegas, Fiji are top seeds and head Pool A, while runners-up New Zealand, third-placed South Africa and the fourth semi-finalist USA lead the remaining pools.

The 2014-15 season carries added significance because the top four sides after the ninth and final round in London in May 2015 will qualify directly for the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016.

Following the pool draw for round six of the Series, Ben Ryan’s side were drawn alongside Canada, Samoa and Belgium as the only non-core side in the event.

Las Vegas runners-up and defending Hong Kong Sevens champions New Zealand will play Australia, Scotland and Portugal in Pool B as Gordon Tietjens’ side look to close the gap on leaders South Africa in the overall standings.

Current series leaders South Africa head Pool C as the third-placed team in Las Vegas and await France, Argentina and Japan.

The USA, meanwhile, will play England, Kenya and Wales in Pool D.With 12 other teams competing in the core team qualifier event, one place on the 2015-16 Series will be up for grabs.

In Pool E, Hong Kong will meet Uruguay, Brazil and Mexico. Russia, Papua New Guinea, Korea and Tunisia are in Pool F, while last year’s relegated side Spain, Zimbabwe, Tonga and Georgia complete Pool G.



Source:World Rugby

scroll to top